Our committees provide advice and assistance to strengthen the collaboration between Muresk Institute, industry and the community, and support planning and decision making to guide our strategic direction and operations.

We have two key committees, the:


Muresk Institute Advisory Committee (MIAC)

The MIAC commenced its operations in February 2013. The committee now meets four times per year and provides advice and assistance to strengthen the collaboration between Muresk Institute, industry and the community. The committee supports informed decision making to guide the strategic directions of Muresk Institute.
All members are appointed by the Director General of the Department of Training and Workforce Development. Nominees are considered for appointment with due regard to their capabilities, professional reputation and community standing, ability and commitment to devote appropriate time to the role and the complimentary nature of the contribution each nominee could make to the committee.
The MIAC members are selected for their experience and expertise in education, training, and industry or community affairs.

Meet the MIAC members

Muresk Institute Advisory Committee

Kay Gerard (Chair)

Kay is the Chief Executive Officer of the Food, Fibre & Timber Industries Training Council (WA) Inc, and has worked in the vocational education and training sector for over 19 years. Her main focus has been business and industry development, particularly from a regional perspective.

Kay is Chair of the Curtin University’s Molecular Life Science Advisory Board and a past member of the Rural, Regional Education Advisory Council and Wheatbelt Workforce Development Alliance.

Stacey Carter, Muresk Institute Advisory Committee member.

Stacey Carter is the Course Coordinator and Lecturer for the Associate Degree in Agribusiness at Curtin University, and a mixed livestock farmer and agricultural ambassador with a passion for teaching people about agribusiness and agriculture to ensure that food and fibre is sustainable and available to all people.

Stacey has a background in research, and in creating agricultural industry-based links to the Australian curriculum. 

David Collard, Muresk Institute Advisory Committee member.

David Collard has been a MIAC member since 2012 and brings his leadership experience in Aboriginal affairs and natural resource management.

David has made a significant contribution to policy development and strategic planning for Aboriginal community engagement and has served the State Government for over 14 years. David has also been a member of various other advisory groups including the South West Aboriginal Land and Sea Council.

Muresk Institute Advisory Committee

Ian Hanna was a Katanning farmer growing cereals and canola, and owned a Dohne Merino stud and commercial flock. He was Treasurer for the WA branch of the Australian Dohne Breeders Association until administration was transferred to a national level. 

Ian has worked in partnership with PRIMED to establish an agricultural career pathway for students in WA's Great Southern region, and now works for Elders Katanning as a rural and residential sales specialist.

Kari Jennings, Muresk Institute Advisory Committee member

Kari Jennings is the current President of the Muresk Old Collegians Association; an alumni dedicated to connecting and promoting the achievements of past and present Muresk students, graduates and staff; and promoting agricultural and agribusiness education.

Since completing a Bachelor of Agribusiness (Marketing), Kari has held various roles in the precision agriculture, agribusiness banking and insurance industries. Kari is currently an Account Manager at EBM Insurance Brokers, servicing the insurance and risk management requirements for primary producers and corporate agribusinesses.

Brad Jones: Muresk Institute Advisory Committee

Brad Jones brings to the group a network of associates and high level expertise to inform and guide committee recommendations.

Managing Director and Chief Pilot of Cropcair Pty Ltd, and Managing Director of Bungulla Farming Pty Ltd and Bungulla Tech Pty Ltd, Brad is in demand as a keynote speaker at prominent agricultural technology events due to his experience in early adoption of ag technology.

John Seabrook: Muresk Institute Advisory Committee

John Seabrook is a machinery importer and grain/sheep farmer, managing his family’s Seabourne Farm in York for the past 15 years. John believes appropriate education with an enthusiastic well trained workforce is vital to the future of agriculture. He promotes and practices an economical and ecologically balanced approach to farming for the future.

John has been an active member of the Royal Agricultural Society's Youth Advisory Committee and holds a Diploma in Environmental Science.

Trevor Whittington: Muresk Institute Advisory Committee

Trevor Whittington is the current WAFarmers Chief Executive Officer; known for his ability to drive strategic outcomes, improve operational procedures and implement policy and advocacy for those in the farming community. Growing up on a family farm in Corrigin, Trevor has been active in the Western Australian agricultural sector including horticulture, viticulture, pastoral, produce exports and agricultural machinery.

Trevor has extensive managerial and political experience and holds a Masters of International Law, Masters of International Relations and BA Honours in Politics and Economics.

Duncan Young: Muresk Institute Advisory Committee

Duncan Young runs his own successful mixed farming enterprise in Beverley, Avon Valley and is a past President of the WAFarmers Grains Council.

Duncan is heavily involved in his local community and sits on various State and national agricultural committees, including the Grain Industry Association of WA’s Barley and Oats Standards Councils. He was also named the Syngenta Growth Awards Australasian Sustainability Winner in 2017.

Muresk Institute Farm Advisory Committee

The purpose of the Farm Advisory Committee is to maximise farm resource use for agricultural workforce development by providing strategic and operational advice. The committee meets twice per year, and supports Muresk Institute in planning and decision making.

The committee's key objectives are to:

  • identify long term industry training priorities;
  • provide timely information so that all reasonable efforts can be made to ensure appropriate training resources are available; and
  • provide specific information and advice on farm issues on request.

All committee members are appointed by the Director General of the Department of Training and Workforce Development, and selected for their experience and expertise and ability to make a positive contribution to the strategic direction of Muresk Institute.